Primary Department



(Nursery and Reception Years)

In the Early Years Sapling class the curriculum is based on the Early Years Foundation Stage curriculum and covers the following areas of development.

Prime Areas:

•    Personal, social and emotional development
•    Physical development
•    Communication and Language

Specific Areas:

•    Literacy
•    Mathematics
•    Understanding of the world
•    Expressive arts and design

Every pupil follows an individual programme with learning objectives matched to their needs.  Progress towards meeting their objectives is reviewed each week and new objectives are set as required.  The children’s communication skills are supported by the use of Makaton signs and symbols and for some children by the use of PECs (Picture Exchange Communication,) and Alternative and Augmentative Communication Aids.


(Years 1 – 6)

There are 4 classes in Key Stage 1 and 2.  Each class has up to 12 pupils from 2 year groups.  The classes are staffed by a teacher and at least one Advanced Teaching Assistant, and most of the time 2 or 3 ATA’s or GTA’s.  The primary curriculum is broad and balanced with a strong emphasis on developing language and communication skills, mathematical knowledge and skills, organisation and thinking skills to allow the pupils to have access to the whole curriculum.

The national curriculum, modified to meet the needs of the pupils, RE, citizenship and personal social education make up the curriculum delivered through themes and topics.  Educational visits and off site activities are an important part of the programme allowing staff to extend and develop what the pupils learn in the classroom.